Chasing The Dream

Whenever I got a chance to travel ever since I was a child, which unfortunately was not that many experiences, there’s always one thing that captured my eye ~ a flight attendant.

The smile, impeccable make-up, classy low bun, perfectly-ironed uniforms, and courteous posture. ​I have always thought that ​it must be a great job, traveling (read:​ working) and at the same time getting paid for it. I know there are so many perks and benefits from this job, however there are also many of not-so-glamorous side from it, but still it is a job and we always have to do our best and try looking for the good things in it :)

So I have always wanted to try to pursue this career, only that my vision needs correction, and since one of the requirements is having normal vision (meaning without correction), so I put the dream aside and just going on with my 9-5 job – well, sometimes up to 7 or 8, lol

Until one time, I felt ​that I really needed to try this, or I would feel sorry, not even to give it a shot is already a big failure itself.

It is always much better to try your best and fail, than not trying at all. Don’t be afraid to fail, be afraid not to try…

Then I decided to go to an Open Day of a Singaporean carrier, only to be eliminated at the one-to-one interview. After that I didn’t really feel like I want to try going to this kind of interview anymore and just decided that it’s not my destiny after all.

One year later, when I felt really frustrated about some random things and vented it all out to a friend, he out of the blue suggested me to try applying to this one of the big 3 Gulf carriers. Which I found it’s a very ridiculous idea. Few days later, I found myself looking up and gathering some information about it, apparently it is pretty promising and interesting indeed.

So I decided to apply online, submitting my resume and photos (p.s. not professionally taken-at all, even I uploaded a selfie on it ~ please don’t do that). Without knowing what to expect, I got an invitation by email 10 days later of a recruitment event that will be held nearby at the end of the month.

Since then, I ran around, preparing myself for whatever it would be on the D day – by reading up blogs and trying to find out what to expect, how should I dress, what should I bring, and many other details I could never think of. From buying a red lipstick, white formal shirt (turns out that I’ve never had one!), black court shoes, until the smallest detail like pearl earrings and red nail polish. Not to mention my schedule was also very packed that time with work and dance practices. Luckily I managed to do everything together at the same time, talking about multi-tasking girls ;)

The next post I will give you detailed information about the Open Day, Assessment Day, and Final Interview.

2 thoughts on “Chasing The Dream

  1. Jen says:

    Hi! I love your blog :)
    One thing I’m curious about though, when you said normal vision, what does that mean? Because I wear glasses/contacts, my vision isn’t perfect…sites that mean it’s gonna be a problem?

    Like

    • red revival says:

      Hello Jen! Thank you so much for reading! I meant that I do wear contacts/glasses for visual correction, and that’s still acceptable with certain border that they will state on their medical forms. As long as you can see clearly with contacts/glasses I believe that wouldn’t be a problem :)

      Like

Leave a comment