The GOLDEN CALL

The Facebook group has been very active with people announcing their JFIP status, Golden Call and Date of Joining!! How exciting is that feeling! After so many waiting periods, some of them even waited up to 3-4 months!! I admire them for being so patient. The day goes on but it hasn’t come yet until 04:00 PM. When it rang and I saw the +971 on the screen, I knew it already that it’s my Golden Call. I picked up my phone and there it was, a sweet lady confirming my name and she congratulated my successful application, she asked if I wanted to accept the offer and join on June 5th – though it’s a bit useless to ask me if I would or not, FOR SURE!!!

She then continued by asking me following questions:

  • Does the joining date suit me?

Yes, early June suits me well. If I wanted a later date, they would offer some mid or end of June dates or even July dates, as that’s what happened to some people I know.

If you asked for later date, say in August or so, they would put you back on hold because they haven’t got it scheduled yet. But they will contact you 1-2 months later, closer to the schedule or once they have settled the new joining dates

  • Are you currently working? How long is your notice period to current employer?

I am currently working and I have 1 month notice period with my current employer. She asked me NOT to resign before they advise me to by sending me the Final Approval email (this email usually with the subject “Advise to Resign”)

  • Are you single or married?

I am single. I’m not sure why she asked me about this. Probably it’s related to what the contract is going to be. I’ve read somewhere that the contract is different between a single cabin crew to the married ones

  • Which city you will be flying from & is it the same city as your Annual Leave Destination?

Jakarta, Indonesia (CGK) is my hometown, also I will be flying to Dubai from here. Emirates will be giving us one free ticket every year, this is called Annual Leave Destination, they also asked us to write this down on the Pre-Joining Administration Form at Final Interview.

She explained that in 2-3 days an email will be sent into my inbox consisting username and password to log into the selected Candidate Portal and documents I need to print – sign – upload to the portal in order to obtain my Final Approval. If I haven’t got the email within the next 3 days, I would have to contact them by calling the exact number they called me from (make sure you save the number).

After confirming my email address and once again she congratulated me, she hung up. BEST feeling ever!! I told my family and friends about it, all they said how fast is that. I was expecting that I will leave around July or August, but well the faster the better ;)

So I already did some blood work and dental check up a few weeks ago and all of them came out GOOD! I can’t be more happier than this. Now I’m going to gather some documents that might be needed, also arrange another appointment with my dentist to ask him signing up my dental form and that’s it for this week.

I will post some more after I got my email and able to log into the portal.

CONGRATULATIONS if you have already reached this step!! And of course good luck to those who will start the application or waiting for the results! Let me know if you want further info, as always, just ask away! I’m not an expert on this but I will try my best to help you out :)